Join now - be part of our community!

How do I get a 'simple' 5.1 sound system to work with the XL202?

Vinny007
Visitor

How do I get a 'simple' 5.1 sound system to work with the XL202?

Hi,
I've recently got my new VGX-XL202 and it's an awesome PC. I am a uni student and I bought it for a couple of reasons- in order to have a good working PC whilst at uni, but come the time to go back home, a system that would go hand-in-hand with our plasma and 5.1 sound setup. Anyhow, the question I need answering is how to connect the logitech X-530 5.1 sound system to the XL202. The X-530 has 3 connectors (all 3.5mm jacks- like the type on headphones). Therein lies the problem- how do I connect the X-530 to the XL202 to get full 5.1 sound? I'm suspecting a converter option but I don't know what. Unfortunately the X-530 does not have any input connections, so the work will have to be done thru the 3 connectors. How can this be done, and what connection on the XL202 would I need to utilise?:smileyconfused: :thinking: :thinking:

5 REPLIES 5
profile.country.en_GB.title
kee-lo_

Vinny,

Do you not have front, back and centre 3.5mm sockets? My RA104 does.

Vinny007
Visitor

Hi Kee-lo,

The XL202 doesn't come with a typical sound card...i believe cos of the Home Entertainment element it's designed for amps and such. Anyhow, its looks like this at the back:

The top line are all inputs and the next line has LR audio in, LR audio out, component (dunno if it's in or out), and the line after that has optical (toslink) in and out, coaxial out and the rest are all non-audio related connections.
:wink:

Vinny007
Visitor

Hi,

I've managed to get the system to work- had to buy an external USB sound card cos i didn't wanna open the PC up in case of voiding the warranty. The speakers are great and go well for this kinda PC. Blu-ray looks fantastic on it and games are great on it too. Unfortunately spending too much time on it and not doing enough studying !!!:smileygrin: