Join now - be part of our community!

Making a Media recovery disc

Whiteyd
Visitor

Making a Media recovery disc

Hi to you all, I'm a newbie.
Vaio VGN-FS515H. Dual layer DVD+-RW
Been trying to make media recovery disc but it keeps self ejecting at about 85% with "error on disc" before completion. Using DVD-R as per the manual. Any help please,-- ruined 4 discs so far.
Thanks.

22 REPLIES 22
profile.country.GB.title
Blencogo
Expert

Hi Whiteyd and welcome.

The Sony burners are notoriously sensitive to the types of discs being used.

Try DVD+R and stick to the better quality makes like Sony, TDK, Verbatim etc.

Also make sure you uninstall any virtual disc software (like Daemon Tools) which can interfere with the Recovery Partition.

:thinking:

Whiteyd
Visitor

Hi, Blencogo.
I've now used Verbatim DVD+R as you advised, and it worked perfectly.
many thanks for your help.
Whiteyd. :slight_smile:

profile.country.GB.title
Blencogo
Expert

Good News Whiteyd

:slight_smile:

Whiteyd
Visitor

Hi again.
Just an obsevation, but the booklet advised that two blank discs would be required to complete the process, however, the wizard advised that it was completed successfully and only 3gb of one disc has been used.Is it just that disc space requirement varies from machine to machine ?
Thanks. :thinking:

profile.country.GB.title
Blencogo
Expert

No - I am fairly sure you should have two DVDs.

DVD 1 is the System Disc which contains the OS, Drivers and Utilities

DVD 2 is the Application Disc and contains all the preinstalled software (Adobe Acrobat Reader, Click to DVD, DVGate Plus, Memory Stick Formatter, Norton Ghost (Try and Buy), Norton Internet Security, Norton Password Manager (Trial), Roxio DigitalMedia SE 7, SonicStage, Ultimaco PrivateDisk Easy, VAIO Media, VAIO Update, WinDVD for VAIO)

To see what you have on your disc, have a look at the contents in Windows Explorer: -

Disc 1 (System Disc) will have files Sony.i01, Sony.i02, Sony.i03, Sony.i04 and Sony.img