Join now - be part of our community!

Flying youtubes

profile.country.CA.title
wklatt

Flying youtubes

I mount several Sony action cams externally on my floatplane to capture video of some of my fav back country destinations. Most of these are within 1/2 hour flight from my home airport, and only accessible by floatplane. I am not a pro, but do it more for myself and friends to record the experience. But also like to share with others that might have common interests. Here is a recent flight that I took a friend out to visit. This lake changes color depending on the season. This was end of Sept, so still lots of glacial silt to give it that azure colour.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wXuDy3JAHgc&t=3s

Change youtube settings to 1080p and go full screen for best viewing. The cameras used are:

AS30 - side view from left wing

AS50 - right wing

X1000 - left float front

I used Action Cam Movie Creator to read in the files from the cameras, and capture the GPS. Then used Windows Movie Maker for the editing and final rendering. Like I said, not very professional but simple and quick to use (and free).

5 REPLIES 5
profile.country.GB.title
jumpsuit
Expert

Hi @wklatt and welcome to the Community :slight_smile:

Great video!

Thanks for sharing :trophy:

profile.country.DE.title
IamNic
Expert

Awesome video :slight_smile:

profile.country.CA.title
wklatt

Here's another one, from last year, and using the AZ1 instead of the AS50.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SKNzHx3GDso&t=1s

profile.country.DE.title
IamNic
Expert

Hi Walter,

I hope I can someday visit you and fly over that beautiful landscape :astonished:

It is truly breathtaking :rainbow:

Did you know, that you can embed videos directly into your post by clicking on the video icon in the top-bar when submitting a post?

video_embedded.JPG

That way people can play the videos directly here on the site.

- Nic

profile.country.CA.title
wklatt