Join now - be part of our community!

Cannot recognise lens. Attach it properly!

SOLVED
profile.country.en_GB.title
GLOBEMASTER3971
Visitor

Cannot recognise lens. Attach it properly!

Hi, I've got a Nex-5 straight out of the box, an e-mount off ebay and a Minolta 75-300/4.5-5.6 II lens. It all attaches together ok, but when I press the shutter, I get the message "Cannot recognise lens. Attach it properly".

There's no electrical connection between the mount and camera body.

I have no technical knowledge of cameras, so please keep any advice simple.

Any ideas please.

The mount I bought is off ebay, and this is the item number 360312319485

The lens was off ebay also item number 190468844023

I don't know about firmware, or what it is or even how to update it!

thanks for your help

Sven

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
profile.country.nl_NL.title
robox3000
Visitor

Some of those after-market adapters require that you put the camera into "Release w/o Lens" in Menu | Setup

I did this same test with mine, a cheap adapter from china, an old minolta lens 50mm f11.4 that i bought at a yard sale for $5 on my NEX-5

If i put the camera into "Release w/o Lens" - Disable" mode, i get "shooting tips" at the bottom button and "cannot recognise lens".

When I enable "Release without Lens - enable" mode, i get "MF assist" and it will take the picture

This should solve it, but here are a couple other things you can try if not...

Have you also tried putting the camera into M or P mode?

Is there any shop near you that might let you try the original Sony LA-EA1 adapter? I know it's way more expensive, but just as a test. It may be that the camera is expecting the electronic connection to the lens since this is an AF lens.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
profile.country.nl_NL.title
robox3000
Visitor

Some of those after-market adapters require that you put the camera into "Release w/o Lens" in Menu | Setup