Join now - be part of our community!

Weird Focussing issues Sony A77 with 16-50mm f2.8 SSM

profile.country.GB.title
Snerkler

Weird Focussing issues Sony A77 with 16-50mm f2.8 SSM

I have the Sony A77 with 16-50mm and I've never thought the lens is as sharp as reviews I'd read. I'm fairly new to photography so just put it down to user error. However, after running some DOF tests it highlighted what I'd always thought so ran some more tests.

I had the camera set up at 50mm and on a tripod using a remote shutter release to eliminate any camera shake or user error. I focussed using the centre focus point on different textured items at different camera to subject distances, each time taking 3 shots at 0 micro adjustment, +3, +5, +8, and +10. Every time the image was not sharp at the focus point using 0 micro adjustment. It was definitely front focussing. I found that the image was sharpest at +8 or +10 depending on camera to suject distance. At smaller camera to subject distances the more pronounced the issue, as you'd probably expect due to DOF.

Fine I thought, I'll just leave it on +8. However, after using the camera for general use I kept getting very blurred images at certain times and realised that it was when I was using any other focus point other than the central one. Further testing showed that at +8 all other focus points other than the central are massively back focussing, and that all other focus points work best at 0 micro adjustment.

On further shots I noticed that at 16mm focal length using the centre focus point set at +8 Micro adjustment the images were again very blurred and it worked best at 0 micro adjustment. I tried different focal lengths and found that as the focal length increases the centre focus point front focusses more and more.