Join now - be part of our community!

Android TV on most 2018/2019 BRAVIAs END OF LIVE!

profile.country.AT.title
Kuschelmonschter
Hero

Android TV on most 2018/2019 BRAVIAs END OF LIVE!

Sony recently announced that they have no plans on updating BRAVIAs based on ATV2/ATV3 (MediaTek MT5891) to Android TV 9.0 Pie. This includes most models from 2017 and 2018 (like the famous X900E and X900F) and also some from 2019 (like the AG8 OLED). Find more about the matter here. It is really time we get active!

22 REPLIES 22
profile.country.GB.title
WelshMoe
Explorer

A week ago I purchased the KD- 43XG80305BU from John Lewis in Cardiff, still have issues with the satellite setting up and HDMI working to other devices with HDMI ... So I certainly hope I have at least a few years of SONY BACK-UP, as it's my first time of a Sony TV, always been Panasonic TV with no regrets ...  

profile.country.AT.title
Kuschelmonschter
Hero

Sony answered on reddit. It looks like they can't get Pie working fine on ATV2, an OS with primary focus on slow processors. With other words, Oreo will be the last Android TV version for ATV2, including several models from 2019 (like XG80 or AG8). Well done Sony management!

profile.country.GB.title
spannerzone

Seems remarkable this can happen but unfortunately once a manufacturer sells a TV they make no further money from that device and have no incentive to support it other than for warranty purposes. I bet if they earnt some money from data or adverts like Google does then they'd be making sure their products lasted a bit longer on the software / hardware front.

Hell, I'd even consider a sensible ongoing software subscription to Sony if it meant they'd design things to be a bit more future proof and provided ongoing support for apps for the next 5 years.

profile.country.IT.title
rooobb
Expert

@Kuschelmonschter  you are referring to yourself as an official source?!?! Where is the official statement from Sony about it?!?