Join now - be part of our community!

Sony Bravia KD-75XF9005/X900F Audio Passthrough

VonDoom
Explorer

Sony Bravia KD-75XF9005/X900F Audio Passthrough

Hello. Forgive my ignorance i am not tech savvy at all! I am thinking of buying the Sony Bravia KD-75XF9005/X900F. Most of my blu-rays discs have only DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 sound or Dolby Atmos. I understand that this model supports DTS and Dolby but not DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 sound or Dolby Atmos. Also i am not planning on buying an AV receiver anytime soon. The question is when a put on the UHD/Blu-ray player my discs what sound will come out of the TV? The DTS-HD Master Audio and Dolby Atmos from my blu-rays will be transcoded automatically to plain  DTS and Dolby Digital since that's what this model supports or they will be no sound? Also if i want in the future to experience the DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 and Dolby Atmos all i have to is to buy a receiver that supports those formats? Can you please help?

7 REPLIES 7
profile.country.IT.title
Marino.Manolo
Genius

Dolby Atmos only with HDMI 2.1, KD-75XF9005/X900F do not has HDMI 2.1.

DTS-HD is losseless, HDMI / Optical do not support losseless.

Manolo

VonDoom
Explorer

Thanks for

@Marino.Manolo wrote:

Dolby Atmos only with HDMI 2.1, KD-75XF9005/X900F do not has HDMI 2.1.

DTS-HD is losseless, HDMI / Optical do not support losseless.

Manolo

your response. So if put in my 4K/Blu-ray player my 4K and blu-ray discs that i have bought and support only DTS-HD, DolbyTrueHD and Dolby Atmos what sound will i have on theSony Bravia KD-75XF9005/X900F? Will i have any sound at all or just silence?

Tags (1)
profile.country.IT.title
Marino.Manolo
Genius

I think PCM Stereo (2.0)

Manolo

VonDoom
Explorer

And if i want in the future to experience DTS-HD and Dolby Atmos with my Sony Bravia KD-75XF9005/X900F what should i do? Should i buy a separate AV receiver that supports DTS-HD and Dolby Atmos and connect it to my TV?

@Marino.Manolo wrote: