Join now - be part of our community!

DCR-VX2100e - transferring more shot than framed

SOLVED
profile.country.en_GB.title
smcanary
Visitor

DCR-VX2100e - transferring more shot than framed

Hello,

I am very new to filming, so please do be gentle!

I do hope someone can help - I have borrowed a Sony Handycam DCR-VX2100e and have downloaded the manual, but, unfortunately, it doesn't cover my two issues.

FIRST

I have set up a shot, framed it, and recorded. However, when I transferred the video to my PC Laptop (to Windows MovieMaker), the framing is completely out. Moviemaker is showing so much more of the shot than what I am seeing in my viewfinder, or on the screen viewfinder of the Handycam.

This is on the widescreen setting (as this is the setting I require for my film).

Is there a setting I have missed? The manual does not cover this.

SECOND

Also - the handycam keeps turning itself off when in standby. Even when in the middle of zooming etc. I can't seem to locate the standby turnoff setting (and does it still turn off when doing something??)

Cheers,

Sarah

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Mick2011
New

Hi Sarah, welcome to the Sony Forums :slight_smile:

The camera will power off after 5 minutes of standby to reduce tape wear. I don't think you can switch this function off, but if you remove the tape it will remain on standby indefinitely. The only workaround with a tape inserted is to power off and on again to reset the 5 minute interval.

The first problem is vaguely familiar, to do with enlarging a portion of the viewfinder image, but I can't quite remember how you change the setting. Shooting 16:9 you should see black bars top & bottom of the screen while recording; if you don't see them your viewfinder is basically magnifying the image.

Either that or I'm reading you wrong... perhaps you're using wide mode and viewing in 4:3 :thinking: check the manual p.54.