Meet our photo competition winner

profile.country.DE.title
Peter_S.
Genius
2,045  Views

1st.jpgLast month we asked you for your best shots for our photography competition, on the theme “In the garden”. From all the fantastic entries, we choose Andraz Antonic as our overall winner. A very successful entrant with six top-three results to his name, we asked him what inspires him, what kit he uses and how he created his winning photo…

Firstly, can you tell us where you’re based and what you do?

I’m located in the beautiful city of Ljubljana, the capital of a small country called Slovenia. By trade I am a financial advisor working in the largest privately owned brokerage house in Slovenia, but I’ve been doing photography on the side for some time now, primarily print sales.

When did you first get into photography and what was your first camera?

I got into photography at an early age as my father also owned cameras since I can remember. I got my very first camera some time in early high school. I can remember as it was one of the very first digital compact cameras on the market that I could buy with my small budget - 2mpix or something like that. I was not an easy child and always wanted to do things on my own - buying my first camera without consulting my father being one of them. And so the little point-and-shoot went everywhere with me, little 16MB memory stick filling up all too fast.
This was of course just point-and-shoot photography. As time progressed I got better and better cameras, but serious photography came much later. I guess it just takes time, plus one must grow up and put some years into one's life to have something to say (through photography or some other medium).

How did you feel when you received the email to say that you’d won our photo competition again?