Meet our videographer

profile.country.GB.title
scully99
2,778  Views

Did you know that Sony Europe has its own in-house film-maker? Meet Torrin Holland, who creates videos and graphics for Sony’s websites, online community and social media. 

Torrin HollandTorrin Holland

Hi Torrin. Thanks for taking the time to explain what you do! First off, how did you become a videographer? 

I loved the idea of creating stories visually – showing emotion through moving images – so I studied TV & Video Production at university. Then I freelanced for 18 months for companies like the BBC and Holiday & Cruise TV. How did I join Sony? The truth is I’m a huge tech geek, so it really appealed!

What are the best things about your job? 

I get to play with the latest gadgets! I also film award ceremonies and trade shows and I’ve travelled in Europe and Japan. Every day is slightly different! It sounds a cliché but I also like working with the people I work with – different personalities bouncing off each other.

What are your special skills as a film-maker?

One of my talents is being able to see a video in my head, how I’d like it to be shot and how I’ll put it together in the edit. I absorb information quickly and I enjoy watching the types of videos I create, so I know the audience and what will work.

I love editing really dramatic pieces! I start with a crazy, outlandish idea and work backwards, trying to make things happen even if they don’t seem easily achievable. 

One of the reasons I’m good at what I do is that I have Asperger’s syndrome. Every person with AS is different, but in the past I found it challenging. Asperger’s inhibits social growth so I found it difficult to talk to people – but there are also many benefits! I’m passionate about my work and I believe in my projects; it gives me the extra edge to make them better because I make the extra effort.