Join now - be part of our community!

Connecting Sony Bravia TV to (very) old Hi Fi system ?

profile.country.ro_RO.title
vici30
Visitor

Connecting Sony Bravia TV to (very) old Hi Fi system ?

Hello! I am having trouble connecting my Sony Bravia TV (model KDL-40EX402; this one http://www.sony.lv/product/tv-102-40-lcd/kdl-40ex402 -it goes to Sony Latvia, I don't know why) to my very old "RXD6AV Disk Exchange/mini HiFi component system" (this one http://www.podarimo.si/slike/slika11282729800.jpg).

The problem is a bit more complicated. I am using a laptop to watch films on the TV. Some films support 5.1 and I decided to see if I could use my old HiFi. The thing is the 5.1 (or any sound for that matter) only works when the HiFi receives signal from a video or a dvd player, not my TV.

I'm sorry I may have not explained very well, I'm not very good at these things.

Tags (2)
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi there

Im not sure i fully understand? The Hifi (from the picture), is only 2 speakers - hence 2 channel stereo (2.0)? I am assuming that you have the other 3 speakers and sub connected?

Can you also confirm that you have connected a digital optical cable to the digital in port (from the digital out port on the TV, and set the TV audio output accordingly) I believe the HIFI has this.

I understand that you get 5.1 from your DVD player (a video player, as far as im aware doesnt support 5.1), so we know that works.

Reading this back, I guess what im saying is, is the cabling. How have you cabled it altogether?

Cheers.

vici30
Visitor

There are indeed all the parts necessary for a 5.1 system. The system works if I play a film on a dvd or an old video casette, but I get no audio from the TV if I want to watch the news, for example (not even stereo... just the static buzz off the speaker.. and yes I have looked into the TV's settings and it is set on hifi output, not tv speakers).