Join now - be part of our community!

General query about sending Vaio off for Repair *newbie* *HELP NEEDED!*

sam_h786
Visitor

General query about sending Vaio off for Repair *newbie* *HELP NEEDED!*

Hi,

This is my first time posting on here since I got my laptop about 9 months ago. I just wanted to ask about the general repair process as I am sending my laptop off for repair for the first time because I accidentently dropped the laptop, my pull out thing for the CD has broke and also for general maintenance. Hows their repair service like? e.g. do they repair, send the laptop back on time and the laptop is working without any problems after repair. Are they expensive?. They said I have to pay for the repair as my warranty does not cover dropping of laptops but it was an accident and plus I forked out another £169.00 for 3 year warranty on top of the standard warranty which covers accidental damage. Now i'm just confused?? anyone want to explain??

Sam x

7 REPLIES 7
profile.country.GB.title
Thalamus.
Champion

They said I have to pay for the repair as my warranty does not cover dropping of laptops but it was an accident and plus I forked out another £169.00 for 3 year warranty on top of the standard warranty which covers accidental damage.

Hi Sam,

welcome to Club VAIO.. :slight_smile:

Did you purchase the Vaio Plus warranty.?

If so this will extend the guarantee on your VAIO Notebook for up to three years from the date of purchase, however I didn't think that it covered accidental damage.. :slight_frown:

Check the terms and conditions paperwork..

Do you have accidental cover with your house insurance, if so have you thought about claiming on that.?

sam_h786
Visitor

Hi Thalamus,

Thankyou for replying to the post I really appreciate it! :slight_smile: I purchased a three year warranty from the sony centre all they said it was a 3 year warranty for my laptop it covers accidental damage they didn't mention the Vaio Plus warranty to be honest with you.