Join now - be part of our community!

Problem Installing XP driver for DS-XG sound device

longhair_kev
Visitor

Problem Installing XP driver for DS-XG sound device

I have recently installed XP Pro SP1 onto my slightly aging X18, everything is fine (well, I am an IT professional!). However I have a problem with the XP driver for the Yamaha DS-XG sound device, for XP, supplied by Sony for this model - obtained from the support website.

The file name the site directed me to is ACD_Yam_512015244.exe and the problem is that the installing this driver fails with XP complaining that the .inf file has an "invalid service section".

Although a minor problem, the consequence being that I cannot get sound from the port replicator until I can succesfully install this driver, I would appreciate any help in either fixing the .inf file or maybe finding an alternative driver file. Even better, if Sony could fix the problem (hint hint!).

14 REPLIES 14
profile.country.GB.title
jammold
Explorer

Can you post the contents of your INF file? I may be able to suggest what is wrong and use Microsoft tactics to repair it!:smileywink:

longhair_kev
Visitor

Thanks...

The forum wouldn't let me post such a large response, so I've put the file on my webserver...

http://www.bluestreak-hosting.co.uk/~kev/NLDS1V00.INF

profile.country.GB.title
jammold
Explorer

Thanks for posting the FTP copy of the INF

My viewing it alone it appears to be OK, so hang on and I will try installing this INF on my system with dummy files to see what Windows XP SP2 errors I get...

It all seems OK...

profile.country.GB.title
jammold
Explorer

OK, so the first thing to do is to back up the original INF file - call it OLDAC97.INF or something easy to remember.

Next, modify this part of the INF header:

Original Header

[Version]
;
CatalogFile=ydsdev.cat
Signature="$CHICAGO$"
Class=MEDIA
ClassGUID={4d36e96c-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}
provider=%YMH%
;LayoutFile=layout.inf
DriverVer = 08/20/2001, 5.12.01.5244