Join now - be part of our community!

VGN AR71S High pitch sound

gunverdi
Visitor

VGN AR71S High pitch sound

Hello there
I am a newbie here. I have got my new Sony VGN AR71S about 3 weeks ago. However, I have two worries about it one is about this NVidia Ge Force 8600M GT GPU graphics card, as I heard they may be faulty and the other is the high pitch sound that I have every now and again that comes from my laptop. It just appears out of the blue usually but a few times it happened after I banged my leg to the desk's leg or if I have accidentally dropped my pen near the laptop. Sometimes when I move the screen slightly the sound goes away but I was just wondering whether any of you are expriencing the same thing and whether it means my computer is faulty or whether it is just how they are. :thinking:
I am looking forward to hearing from you,
Thanks

3 REPLIES 3
profile.country.CH.title
stone69
Contributor

Hello gunverdi and welcome to Club VAIO.

Unfortunately I have not a solution ready for you, but your question raised my interest, as I have a similar "feature" on my AR31S. So I'm interested too, if there is a solution to that. However my VAIO is out of warranty :slight_frown:
The high pitched sound does occur from time to time. It changes intensity when I toggle the brightness up and down and is completely gone at the lowest and maximum brightness (so that's where I keep it).
Also I noticed that the sound disappears and reappears when you slightly push against the illuminated VAIO-logo below the screen.
What I have not tried yet is to switch off the logo-lamp permanently to see if it's caused by that.

gunverdi
Visitor

hello Stone