Join now - be part of our community!

Video driver for PCG-K115B

Video driver for PCG-K115B

Having just bought the above laptop, I have been trying to play a dvd..... choosing one of the many players installed, i.e. windows media player, I get told that the video driver is missing....
Attempts to use the restore disc have failed, downloading the drivers from vaio-link have failed (thanks for keep booting me Tiscali!) Any one help? Sorry to say I am a bit of a novice, so please be gentle with me!

16 REPLIES 16
profile.country.en_GB.title
kee-lo_

Try using WinDVD for your DVD watching...

Thanks for the advice...... only trouble is windvd won't work either! If I insert and try to play a dvd I get a message stating 'Create Overlay failed lower your screen resolution or colour depth'
When I try every combination of resolutio (i.e. 2) and colour depth (3) I get the same error message.....
This is getting a tad annoying.....

Thanks again for replying

nick_pan
Visitor

have u got any codec packs installed?

profile.country.en_GB.title
robpaxton
Explorer

Try reinstalling your Video drivers - they are normally in c:\drivers. Also make sure that you aren't using any other programs that are using the video overlay.

Thanks guys...

Codec packs? I'm afraid I'm a bit of a novice, so not knowing what they (it, he, she) is, I tried search and found 14 files etc.... that good? Bad?

Video driver? According to the device manager, I haven't got a video driver and despite looking on the vaio link site, ati's site I can't find one! I can't seem to find out which driver I need as I don't know which card I have!

I'm sorry to be such a prawn when it comes to computer knowledge..... There was me, walking into a shop, handing over a lot of money, buying a recognised name and expecting it to work.......

nick_pan
Visitor

hey its ok no worries..

ignore the codec pack bit for now..