Join now - be part of our community!

Guide to Gaming on 4k Sony Android 2015 TV

xx4L0Mxx
Contributor

Guide to Gaming on 4k Sony Android 2015 TV

Here is a rough guide to gaming on 2015 Sony Android 4k TV's.

Before  I personally bought a 4k tv I had a lot of questions about how gaming would perform on a 4K TV, would the PS4 look any better? Would the upscaling be OK? Would everything outputted @1080p look blurred?  Can I output my PC @4k-60HZ RGB 4:4:4?

I will attempt to help answer some of these questions as it took me a long time of research and ultimately testing, with me making some stupid mistakes along the way, so helpfully it may help some of you guys out who are thinking about taking the plunge or already have a 4K TV and want to get the best gaming experience out of it.

I'm no expert but I have been gaming since the dawn of man, so these are my experiences to hopefully help you make an informed decision whether 4k gaimg is right for you or not.

Some things before I start :

1 : I have ZERO Affiliation to Sony or any other company.

2 : I own the 55" 2015 Sony Bravia Android TV KDx558509c, all settings / experiences will be based on this model.

3 : Any Questions then please ask, I may not know the answer, but I'm sure someone from this community will be happy to help.

4 : This guide WILL NOT be geared toward Android gaming, as I personally never play any android games and the mediatek processors inside the TV are not going to be running Real Racing 3 or similar with any aplomb.

4 : All comparisons to 1080p output will be compared to a 2014 model 55LB650V 55" LG smart :

http://www.lg.com/uk/tvs/lg-55LB650V

5 : I realise that UHD and 4k are technically different, but the phrase  "4k" will be used here on out, as it's less to type and I'm lazy.