Join now - be part of our community!

Sony TC-K511S Stereo Cassette deck

profile.country.GB.title
cheddarman

Sony TC-K511S Stereo Cassette deck

I am a First Responder volunteer with the ambulance service and the other day was called out to an elderl lady. After tending her needs she still seemd somewhat distressed and while chatting she said that her Sony cassette player had stopped working and she was sad that she could no longer play her music.

As a retired electronics engineer I said I'd gave a look at it for her, see if there was anything obvious that I could fix.

I found the service manual on line and with this ascertained that the electronics were all fine but the tape mechanical unit, called the "Mechanism deck" in the manual, was not working, something was bust and wouldn't do anything. I removed it per the manual and I found that the pinch roller had come off its spindle and the spring had come out of the little groove. Put this back together but stll no joy.

Does anybody know where I might find a replacement Mechanism Deck please, I'll happily pay for one for her as she can't afford it!

Thanks

Screenshot 2019-02-05 at 08.42.54.png

13 REPLIES 13
profile.country.IT.title
Marino.Manolo
Genius

The expense will be higher and you will have to check the operation but maybe it will be easier to find the Deck and not just the spare.

Manolo

profile.country.GB.title
Blencogo
Expert

I doubt if the spare is available.

However, there are some complete decks on eBay in the UK but quite expensive at around £150.

I see there is also a ‘Service Kit’ on eBay which comprises the pinch roller and two different rubber belts - perhaps this may point to the problem?