Join now - be part of our community!

AR51M - how to set RAID array?

Bartes
Visitor

AR51M - how to set RAID array?

Hi,

Just got my new AR51M notebook with two 160GB HDD's. Some internet shops claims that the computer supports RAID 0 and RAID 1. I have no experience with settings raid arrays, can anybody briefly explain to me how to deal with that?

Bart

9 REPLIES 9
broochie
Visitor

Greetings Bart, & welcome to Club Vaio :smileygrin: .

I hope u are familiar with RAID & possibly u would have weighed out the advantages/disadvantages of RAID0 & RAID1.

I'll juss point to u where u can get the setting. Switch your new VAIO on, & hit F2 to go into ur BIOS, go to the advanced tab & locate RAID configuration, it will say hide(by default) but select show, save the changes & exit the BIOS.
As it boots you can hit "CTRL & I" to enter the raid configuration......... :smileygrin:

Bartes
Visitor

I hope u are familiar with RAID & possibly u would have weighed out the advantages/disadvantages of RAID0 & RAID1.

I'll juss point to u where u can get the setting. Switch your new VAIO on, & hit F2 to go into ur BIOS, go to the advanced tab & locate RAID configuration, it will say hide(by default) but select show, save the changes & exit the BIOS.
As it boots you can hit "CTRL & I" to enter the raid configuration......... :smileygrin:

I'm aware of all pros and cons of the raid arrays, red a lot about them, just never tried to set one by myself. The hdd speed is killing me, so i thinking of trying raid 0 configuration. I backup most important data anyway, so if the raid got broken, it wont hurt that much anyway.

The most difficult task still ahead of me, i cant stand that Vista thing, and going to downgrade to XP.

thanks awfully! :wink:

iziizi
Visitor