Join now - be part of our community!

Help needed for presumed failed graphics card - preventing laptop booting?

profile.country.en_GB.title
clairm85
Visitor

Help needed for presumed failed graphics card - preventing laptop booting?

I've been running a Vaio VGN-FZ38M for 4 years now with no problems, however a few nights ago the screen went blank mid-use and when I restarted I got a blue screen error stopping it from rebooting.  I ran system repair twice with no solution, and continued to get blue-screen errors preventing the laptop from booting.  I am also getting red lines on the initial black vaio screen, and green dots on the black boot-up scrern before the error kicked in.

Having got the laptop into safe mode I backdated the driver for the graphics card (Nvidia GeForce 8400M GT) to an older version but this still does not allow the laptop to start.  I've also tried a system restore to no avail.  The only way to get the laptop to boot normally is to disable the graphics card, so I presume its a graphics hardware fault.  This makes it useable but gives me great problems using certain websites and my graphics software.

I've read a lot on the web today about the 8400M card being inherently faulty and getting damaged in heat (my laptop gets particularly hot when charging), and as my model is one of the affected ones I presume this might be the problem.  When I ring Sony however, I'm told automatically that as my model is out of warranty I have to ring a premium rate number.  I find this really disappointing as I can't access a landline to do this during the hours that the support helpline is open, and I can't locate any of the 'e-support' facilities referred to in my user guide.  I find it really annoying that it's so hard to access support from such a reputable company, especially for what seems to be such a common problem.