Join now - be part of our community!

Installing vista, (recovery partition problems?)

awillson
Visitor

Installing vista, (recovery partition problems?)

Hi,

I am a Computer Science student and have access to the MSDNAA website where by i can download Vista Business, with a free licence. I was wondering though, how would this effect my small recovery partition on my laptop when i install vista? Will it overwrite my recovery partition with a windows vista recovery? or would it still hold windows xp recovery, thus inserting the recovery disk, would it install xp back onto my computer.

Also are their any links from sony which update various drivers? or would i have to manually search for these? some are particualry quite hard to find.

Cheers.

8 REPLIES 8
skykit84
New

Hi,

The recovery partition is only affected if during install, you delete it

otherwise, the partition will remain

then if it comes to recovering, you just hit the shortcut F key (forgot which one) and it will bring the laptop to factory state

i would still make the recovery dvds though just incase because that too will bring the laptop to factory state including the partitions...

profile.country.GB.title
Blencogo
Expert

It will restore your Vaio to factory condition - to XP. This partition will remain if you just install Vista on drive C:. It will be overwritten if you do a full format first.

Sony have not yet released a full set of Vista drivers - these are not expected until the retail launch of Vista'

:slight_frown:

awillson
Visitor

another question:

As we all know sony have the recovery partition, i also have the C (windows, program files etc) and D (documents, music etc) partitions on my vaio. If i were to format both C,D and the recovery and form one partition (C) to install windows (i.e. have no recovery partition now) would this void my warranty . Ideally i would like to have no recovery partition and just one C drive.

Note i have a fully licenced copy of windows pro CD anyway.