Join now - be part of our community!

TV reception on my VGN-S4VP/B

charfieldstfc
Visitor

TV reception on my VGN-S4VP/B

I've just discovered that I'm going to be in Portugal when the Ryder Cup is on and the villa doesn't have a TV. Has anyone experience of what I need to do to get my notebook setup to receive TV. Thanks.

8 REPLIES 8
profile.country.en_GB.title
kee-lo_

As long as you have a portable arial or if there's on in the villa you just plug it in and tune in the channels

charfieldstfc
Visitor

Plug into what? Do I need to purchase something (other than the arial), like a TV Receiver or card? I'm a novice at this sort of thing.

profile.country.GB.title
Blencogo
Expert

If your Vaio does not have a TV card you will need something from here: -

TV Receivers

I'd go for a USB external device so you can use it on any PC.

I'd check whether the signal is Digital or Analogue where you are going in Portugal - or buy a hybrid product.

profile.country.en_GB.title
kee-lo_

I assumed you had the multimedia dock, sorry about that.

profile.country.GB.title
Thalamus.
Champion

Plug into what?  Do I need to purchase something (other than the arial), like a TV Receiver or card?  I'm a novice at this sort of thing.

Hi charfieldstfc,

As you are travelling maybe something like the compactVideoMate U3 may be of interest. :slight_smile:

profile.country.en_NL.title
Carelino
Visitor

If I were you I would buy this one:

http://www.avermedia.com/cgi-bin/products_digitvtuner_hybridcardbus.asp?show=2

If link does not work go to avermedia, it's an pcmcia card including a remote WITH stereo sound on it. I was searching for a long time en tried a lot of external usb tuners. A lot of them wanted you to use your mic input to get sound, wich is very bad. It's a long story....