Join now - be part of our community!

Best Settings NEX5N - Avoid blown out/over exposed skies

Best Settings NEX5N - Avoid blown out/over exposed skies

Hello,

I've got one of these fine cameras , and have used on one or two short trips abroad from the UK. Like my RX100 I notice on a number of my images the sky is white, when in reality it's probably a bit blue.  I think I've got my exposure wrong on these shots.Overexposed?

I use a mixture of automatic and semi manual settings such as Program Mode. Can somebody give me some general guides to the best settings in bright light. (Last year I was in Rome in April). Difficult to simulate the lighting here in the UK. I'm not a professional photographer by training but told I have a good 'eye' for a picture. I'd like to improve my results of course. Historically I tend to set the ISO to 100 (80 on the RX100) this is a bit of a hang over from my days with my smaller sensor cameras. Would I be better off for example using a highter ISO? Will this make a difference? Forgive me if this subject has been covered before. I just can't see a good authoritive guide that would suit a mostly point and shoot but critical user. Thanks in advance.

Alan

2 REPLIES 2
profile.country.en_GB.title
Watashiwateshdes
Contributor

Hey and welcome to the Community. 

Glad to see that you are looking into this in more detail. Most people wouldn't actually bother but there are some steps you can focus on to help this from happening. I hope this gives you some starting points to help you get going. I have thrown up a lot below be warned 🙂

To help nail the lighting conditions is working on how the camera meters. There are a few various modes which will result in a different photo (in most situations)