Join now - be part of our community!

Local hosting of a web site

SOLVED
profile.country.en_GB.title
STEMPublishing
Visitor

Local hosting of a web site

Hi all - from the latest newbie!

Please excuse me - I am an amateur on forums and with ebooks.

I have a website on which I have published, for the last 15 years, 10s of 1000s of Christian books and articles.

I have been interested for some years in the possibility of using eReaders for users in poor countries in the middle of Africa etc., in such places to be able to carry a library in lightweight form and read it in daylight  with no paper for the ants to eat and the humidity to spoil seems too good to be true!

To retrospectively format 10s of 1000s of html files to some ebook formats is too much for me.

So I have been waiting for the excellent Sony devices to have a browser along with its touch screen - hurray for the PRS-T1 !!!!

I presume the kludgy Kindle will be catching up this Autumn.

I want to be able to offer folk a download of my site  (a few hundred Mb of text) to their eReader so that they can access it all in the structure of the site without 3G access and without creating 10s of 1000s of eBooks and the necessary links around them.

Is there anyone out there with the expertise/knowledge who would know if the browser will access material locally on the reader?

What is necessary for it to do that?

...anything else I should know?

I would very much appreciate any help....

Thanks, Les.

Message was edited by: -Soup-

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
carpetmojo

I would respectfully suggest  - with all present technologies I know of, anyway - that ereader robustness, of whatever manufacturer - will prove to be a problem.

Certainly covers/cases would be a must in the situations you envisage, and power for recharging batteries vital.

In the situations you envisage, these could prove real stumbling blocks.

But good luck.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
STEMPublishing
Visitor