Join now - be part of our community!

'Sony Make Believe'

profile.country.GB.title
vintageaxeman
Explorer

'Sony Make Believe'

SONY MAKE BELIEVE was STOLEN from me! SONY STOLE MY 'INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY'. Sony's advertising department stole something from me, without recognition or acknowledgement, and without payment. I was the English guy who invented the phrase ‘Sony Make Believe’. I do not work for Sony, and I have no connection with Sony. I was a teacher in the UK (now retired) who used to come up with ideas like this at home and occasionally comes up with bright ideas for logos, slogans etc, to promote creativity in my Design teaching with 15 and 16 year old Graphic Design pupils, to encourage them to think ‘outside the box’. ‘Sony Make Believe’ is an idea I had which I discussed many times with my pupils BEFORE I sent my offer to Sony, and also during the years since I invented it. I really was the person who came up with this tagline / slogan and sent it to Sony’s advertising department. I own the copyright to the addition of the words ‘Make Believe’ to the word ‘Sony’ as an advertising slogan. ‘Sony Make Believe….’ was a play on words, which, coloquially spoken, sounds like ‘It’s only Make Believe…’. In the UK, parents will recognise this as a phrase which they will have used with their younger children after watching scary television programs. I felt that it was a good tagline for such a fantastic company producing high quality AV equipment. When I sent it to Sony, I offered them the rights to the slogan for 100 UK pounds. They never responded, but about a year later they started using it as their global marketing campaign. They simply put a dot in it, to make the phrase ‘Sony Make.Believe’, made a big deal about the DOT representing ‘Sony’ and somehow relating it to the internet… So it is VERY slightly different. I am SURE that a court would find in MY favour about this being MY intellectual property. If Sony delved deep enough into their records, they w