Join now - be part of our community!

New Laptop Battery

SJN_73
New

New Laptop Battery

Hi All,

Joined up to ask a question about a battery.

I've been receiving the following error message:

"The installed battery may not be properly connected to the computer or may not be compatible with the computer.

Click 'ok' to enter Hibernate more, and remove and reinsert the battery.

See the electronic VAIO(R) User Guide for more information about using the battery".

I assume the battery I use at the minute is finished and that I need to buy a new one. I've had to do so with other laptop batteries in the past but if anyone is able to advise that this isn't necessarily the problem, it would be appreciated as I'm no expert!

[IMG]http://i62.tinypic.com/msc1ky.jpg[/IMG] - there is a picture of the current battery. I can find a new one from various sellers online but with some slightly different specifications such as different 'V' and 'mAh' but with the same model number. Is this okay or does the new one have to be the exact same as the one pictured?

Appreciate any help. Thank you. 

2 REPLIES 2
smart2014
Explorer

Hi there

Please fully charge (24 hours) and discharge for several times to see how long the battery working time is. 

Could you tell us the battery still can boot computer or not?

For a new battery, we advise that you update the BIOS of your laptop, and open the hardware automatic identification port of your laptop. 

When you use it firstly, you need to discharge till 5%, then charge it about 11 hours. Usually, new battery need to fully discharge and charge for three or four times, which can achieve the best performance. 

About the new battery, please set the power management of your laptop: Property -> Screen Saver -> power -> Power scheme -> Portable / Laptop -> please cancel about low battery alarm and serious shortage of battery alarm when use the battery. 
For some laptops, you could try to close your power management tool to test your new battery.