Join now - be part of our community!

Battery not being recognised

WDUK
Visitor

Battery not being recognised

Hiya
I have a Sony VAIO VGN-A117S notebook. Now I don't know how it has occured but all of a sudden Windows is not recognising the battery (saying there is no battery present, when there is one),
I have to have the laptop plugged in for it to work. I have took out the battery and inspected it and there doesn't seem to be a problem with it.
When I take out the battery when it is not plugged in, the notebook turns off.
What should I do, because I admit I'm not a notebook expert ...

11 REPLIES 11
profile.country.GB.title
jammold
Explorer

It sounds like your battery is dead.

How long have you had it?

Batteries have a limited warranty by Sony, but should last for about three years for Li-Ion (lithium ion).

WDUK
Visitor

Around 7-8 months I think

mvanwambeke
Visitor

So your computer does actually work on the battery, it just not recognized as battery in the laptop?

profile.country.GB.title
jammold
Explorer

Lol Wait a minute, "when the notebook is disconnected from the mains, and the battery is removed, the notbook turns off"

Lol not surprising because the notebook has no source of power.

If the notebook is disconnected from the mains, and a fully charged battery is inserted, the notebook should start from the battery, if it doesn't then the battery in this case is at fault.

If it is not recognised as a battery in the laptop, it could indicate a fault with the battery bay.

TygerTyger
Visitor

I have to have the laptop plugged in for it to work. I have took out the battery and inspected it and there doesn't seem to be a problem with it.
What should I do, because I admit I'm not a notebook expert ...