Join now - be part of our community!

PCG-9L1M - Lightning Strike Aftermath

tombal
Visitor

PCG-9L1M - Lightning Strike Aftermath

Newbie here...
AC adapter died. I replaced it. At boot time I got "Windows failed to start last time...". Whichever option I chose he died.
Booted 4 different XP CDs and the recovery CD. They ran but died at the point they should have done someting useful apart from load themselves. Same with the XP 6-diskette set.
Bought BootMaster and reset the MBR. Now, one time, after many boot attempts, I got "Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:
\windows\system32\config\SYSTEM".
BootMaster can see the files on the C drive but he will only let me copy from C to A.
I have good data backup so I'd be happy if I could boot something that will let me reformat the HDD and try an XP reinstall. I have no idea what that something might be. Any thoughts? Thanks, Tom

15 REPLIES 15
profile.country.GB.title
Blencogo
Expert

Hi tombal and welcome to ClubVAIO.

It sounds like you have more serious problems and your Vaio may need professional repair. Do you have Household Insurance?

You could try the Recovery Console from the XP Disc or if you can get hold of a MS-DOS boot disc this is worth a try.

:slight_frown:

tombal
Visitor

Hi tombal and welcome to ClubVAIO.

Thank you!:smileyhappy: And thank you for responding.
It sounds like you have more serious problems and your Vaio may need professional repair.  Do you have Household Insurance?

It does look bad, doesn't it?:smileysad: My insurance does not cover ligtning hits. Is fitting a replacement HDD something I could tackle myself?
You could try the Recovery Console from the XP Disc or if you can get hold of a MS-DOS boot disc this is worth a try.

As I said, I can boot XP CDs but they freeze after loading. I never get the offer of recovery console. The VAIO recovery CD loads and freezes with "Please wait..."