Join now - be part of our community!

Help with KDL32EX503 or BDP S370 connecting to internet via Wi FI

profile.country.en_GB.title
mamou292
Explorer

Help with KDL32EX503 or BDP S370 connecting to internet via Wi FI

Hi, Ive had a KDL 32EX503 tv and blue ray player BDP s370and never connected to the internet as my router is in another room. At the time of buying I was unsure if the dongle would work as reviews didnt seem very good and I have thick walls and the price put me of. Would like it to watch lovefilm and iplayer. Cant find the dongle for sale anywhere now and was wondering if homeplugs or a wi fi bridge would be a better option. I am a complete novice at this and have been trying to read up on it but really need advice on what I am exactly looking for eg. model and if anyone has a similar set up some advive on how to proceed. Dont know if I should connect to TV or blue ray and dont wont to make a mistake in buying the wrong hardware.

Hope this isnt too basic a question Im not too technical

Thanks J

7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi there

Have a read through the following thread, as it will/should explain some of your options:

http://community.sony.co.uk/t5/Televisions/Dongle-to-connect-a-Sony-3D-TV-Model-Number-KDL40HX803U/m...

In regards to deciding which one to connect to the internet, fortunately there is a dual ethernet homeplug solution - such as : HERE

Alternatively, if you are going for a wired/homeplug solution, you could simply add a ethernet switch at the back of the TV, to a single TP Link Homeplug and connect both TV and bluray player, as well as future expandability.

For me, I have my router in the same room (Lounge Room), and I have connected a 20m ethernet cable to the back of the TV (hidden inside some trucking).  I have then added a simple 5 port gigabit switch at the back of the TV, to connect upto 4 other devices (TV, PS3, PVR, Network Media Player)

Hope this helps.

Cheers